Posted in writing

Thoughts from the Winner’s Circle

I feel like “We Are the Champions” should be playing before I walk through every door. That’s how good I feel at the close of July and the finish line of Camp NaNoWriMo. I knew I wasn’t going to hit 50k words, but what I didn’t know was that I would accomplish so many other things.

(By the way, I hit 18,214 words. Look at me now, ma!)

I began streaming my writing and got such positive feedback I hadn’t been expecting. The writing community on Twitch welcomed me with open arms. I didn’t even realize the point where I guess I chatted enough to get friendly with anybody, but now I’ve been invited to be actively involved in the community. Ideas are floating around for some collaborative efforts to help other writers. I never dreamed that would happen and I would be considered for taking part! Even nicer than that is that writers have asked for my input on their pieces and have told me I’ve inspired them. That meant the world to me.

This was only possible due to overcoming my fears of showing people my writing. Not just any writing, mind you, but I showed people raw writing as it spilled out of my brain and onto the page. That was terrifying! But again, the positive feedback and company from the Twitch writing community made me feel welcome and capable. Honestly, I felt a little bit like a superhero. It was pretty neat.

Probably my favorite part of this month was finishing FOUR stories! Four ideas from beginning to end were written on stream and two of them so far have made it to my Fiction Press account! I’m so proud of myself!

Yes, let the conceit flow through you…

Pfft. Shut up, Dark Side. I know what I’m doing.

Seriously, being able to finish stories has been such a euphoric feeling. I missed it more than I realized. And don’t it always seem to go that you don’t know what you’ve got ’til it’s gone? Yes, that’s a song lyric. Don’t call the cops for plagiarism.

Now we’re charging forward into August (and towards my birthday!) and even more of my habits are shifting. Because obviously I HAD to have a conversation with my brother and he HAD to be so darn sensible! My streaming times/days will likely change in favor of a good night’s sleep and an early, productive morning. I’ve made time for reading again which should help my writing. I will hopefully also be able to make time for proper cooking.

Basically I’m attempting a healthier life overhaul than I did in July when I put writing thoughts and writing thoughts ONLY first, and hopefully I’ll see even better accomplishments.

I’m a winner!

Leave a Reply

